Save this page

Learning Enhancement and Skills Committee

The Learning Enhancement and Skills Committee is committed to enhancing the student learning experience in Scotland’s colleges and universities. The purpose of the committee is to provide advice and guidance to the Council board on strategies for ensuring that students receive an inspiring, high quality education, which equips them with the knowledge and skills to participate effectively to Scotland’s economic, social and cultural success.

About Us

Committee membership

Council members

External members

  • D-I Brown
    Lead Project Manager, BBC Scotland.
  • Martha Caddell
    Director, Learning and Teaching Academy, Heriot-Watt.
  • Claire Carney
    Associate Vice Principal (Education), University of West of Scotland.
  • Karen Corbett
    HMI, Education Scotland.
  • Frank Coton
    Vice Principal, Academic and Educational Innovation, University of Glasgow.
  • Angela Cox
    Principal, Borders College.
  • Selma Hunter
    Director, Process Sector, Executive Leadership, Doosan Babcock.
  • Eve Lewis
    Director, sqarqs.
  • Liam McCabe
    President, NUS Scotland.
  • Rowena Pelik
    Director, QAA Scotland.
  • Fiona Robertson
    Head of Education, East Lothian Council.
  • Ken Thomson
    Principal, Forth Valley College.
  • Maggie Wightman
    Director of Skills Alignment, SFC/Skills Development Scotland.

Committee Clerk

Nick Stansfeld, Policy/Analysis Officer, tel: 0131 313 6539, email:

Committee Standing Orders

Learning Enhancement and Skills Committee Standing Orders [PDF]

Committee papers

Learning Enhancement and Skills Committee meeting papers

Committee meeting dates

To be confirmed.