Save this page

Access Programmes Steering Group

The Access Programmes Steering Group (APSG) was created to prioritise and take forward the implementation of Recommendation 4 of the CoWA report.

Widening access

Recommendation 4

Universities, colleges, local authorities, schools, SFC funded access programmes and early years providers should work together to deliver a coordinated approach to access which removes the duplication and provides a coherent and comprehensive offer to learners.

Recommendation 4a

This should include the development of mechanisms by which access programmes undertaken at one institution, or in one part of the country, can be recognised by other institutions, while also serving institutional and local needs. Credit rating programmes on the Scottish Credit and Qualifications Framework (SCQF) should be considered where appropriate.

The Access Programmes Steering Group has drawn membership from as many stakeholders as possible from across the sector, institutions and agencies to ensure full representation, and is chaired by Fiona Burns, SFC.

Steering Group membership

Members include representatives from:

  • SFC.
  • SWAP.
  • Scottish Youth Parliament.
  • University of Dundee.
  • Early Years Scotland.
  • Universities Scotland.
  • University of Glasgow.
  • SCQF.
  • The Robertson Trust.
  • LEAPS.
  • Open University in Scotland.
  • Scottish Government.
  • MCR Pathways.
  • NUS Scotland.
  • LiftOff/SHEP.
  • Glasgow School of Art.
  • Edinburgh City Council.
  • Advance HE.
  • School Leaders Scotland.
  • Colleges Scotland.

The group meets bi-annually and work towards milestones [PDF] outlined in the Implementation Overview Report.

Steering Group papers

Papers from the meeting held on 18 February 2020.

Papers from the meeting held on 10 October 2019.

Papers from the meeting held on 3 June 2019.

Papers from the meeting held on 21 January 2019.

Further information

For more information on APSG, contact Anna Wallace, tel: 0131 313 6605, email:

We encourage non-members to contact a member of the group or Anna Wallace if you would like to contribute to any agenda items or provide feedback on work being carried out.