Save this page

Research and Knowledge Exchange Committee

The Research and Knowledge Exchange Committee (RKEC) has a role to respond to, recommend and advise the Board on research and knowledge exchange strategy, policy and funding issues relevant to Scottish higher education institutions and colleges (taking into account the international dimension), with broad areas of advice including but not limited to:

Banner image for About us site area
  • Providing regular analyses of the strengths, weaknesses and opportunities and threats in the areas of research and innovation support, taking a broad view.
  • Providing regular and timely advice to the Board on prioritisation, in the use of the Council's resources to maximise the delivery of the strategic plan and to address Scottish Government outcomes.
  • Working with enterprise agencies and other stakeholders to give the Board advice on a strategy for innovation and support of knowledge exchange for sustainable economic growth.
  • Identifying opportunities for the Board to consider interventions to leverage significant resource into Scotland in support of research and/or knowledge exchange.

Committee membership

Board members

External members

  • Professor Anne Anderson
    Formerly Vice-Principal and Head of College of Social Sciences, University of Glasgow.
  • Professor Christina Boswell FBA FAcSS FRSE
    Vice Principal Research and Enterprise, University of Edinburgh.
  • Professor Tom Brown
    Vice-Principal (Research and Innovation) and School of Physics and Astronomy, University of
    St Andrews.
  • Professor Nicholas Fyfe
    Vice Principal, Research, Robert Gordon University.
  • Dr Alicia Greated
    CEO of Knowledge Transfer Network Ltd.
  • Gordon Hunt
    Senior Manager: Research and Enhancement, College Development Network.
  • Professor Julian Jones
    Vice-Principal and Deputy Vice-Chancellor, Heriot-Watt University.
  • Dr Alison McIntosh
    Executive Director, Scottish Universities Life Sciences Alliance (SULSA).
  • Professor Andy Porter
    Chair in Molecular and Cell Biology, University of Aberdeen.
  • Ms Sara Rae
    Assistant Principal, Enterprise and Skills, West College Scotland.
  • Anna Salgado
    Technical Director – Supply Chain, LifeScan Scotland Ltd.
  • Sandy Weir
    Senior Technical Manager & AI Centre of Excellence Manager, Canon Medical Research Europe.

Other member

  • Professor Stephen Decent, Universities Scotland Research and Knowledge Exchange Committee.


  • Helen Pearce, UKRI.
  • Laura Dougan, Scottish Government.
  • Gillian Galloway, Highlands and Islands Enterprise.
  • Derek Shaw, Scottish Enterprise.
  • Brigid Feeny, BEIS

Committee Clerk

Jennifer Jamieson, email:

Committee Standing Orders

Research and Knowledge Exchange Committee Standing Orders [PDF]

Committee papers

Research and Knowledge Exchange Committee meeting papers

Next meeting dates

  • 31 January 2024.
  • 17 April 2024.
  • 31 July 2024.
  • 8 October 2024.