Register with us to view a personalised homepage and to receive emails relating to your interests.

Save this page

Innovation Centre Infrastructure Assessment Process 2023

Our Review of Coherent Provision and Sustainability recommended we relaunch our flagship investments, including Innovation Centres (ICs), as stable long-term infrastructure. We have developed a process for assessing the current ICs and their suitability for SFC Infrastructure Investment which will make recommendations to the SFC Board in summer 2023. An Assessment Panel has been formed to support this process with the current 7 ICs (only) being invited to submit plans.

Banner image for Innovation site area

Innovation Centre Infrastructure Assessment Process

Guidance documents

The current seven IC’s submitted their Infrastructure Investment Plans on 31 March 2023.

Innovation Centre Infrastructure Assessment Panel

The Panel will be chaired by Professor Lesley Yellowlees, Chair of SFC's Research and Knowledge Exchange Committee. The Panel is made up of experts from universities, colleges, SFC, Scottish Government and Enterprise Agencies.

Assessment Panel Membership

  • Ben Johnson
    Executive Head of Strategic Research and Innovation Development, University of Strathclyde.
  • Carolyn Reeve
    Former Head of Policy for University Research and Knowledge Exchange at Department for Business, Energy & Industrial Strategy.
  • David McBeth
    Director of Research and Innovation Services, University of Dundee (representing Universities Scotland’s Research and Commercialisation Directors’ Group).
  • Derek Shaw
    Director of Innovation and Place, Scottish Enterprise.
  • Gillian Galloway
    Head of Innovation and Technology, Highlands and Islands Enterprise.
  • Helen Cross
    Director of Research and Innovation, SFC.
  • Irene McAra-McWilliam
    Deputy Director Research & Innovation, The Glasgow School of Art.
  • Jane Morrison-Ross
    CEO, South of Scotland Enterprise.
  • Lesley Yellowlees
    Chair of SFC Research and Knowledge Exchange Committee [Panel Chair].
  • Rhona McDonald
    Strategic Lead Science, Research, International & EU Exit, Directorate for Economic Development, Scottish Government.
  • Sara Rae
    Assistant Principal, Enterprise and Skills, West College Scotland.
  • Stephen O’Neill
    Deputy Director, Technology, Innovation and Entrepreneurship Division, Directorate for Economic Development, Scottish Government.
  • Tom Brown
    Vice-Principal (Research, Collections and Innovation) and School of Physics and Astronomy, University of
    St Andrews.

Panel Terms of Reference [PDF].

The Panel will convene from March 2023 until June 2023.

Further information

Please contact Gary Bannon, Assistant Director, email: