Save this page

SFC review of University Innovation Fund 2019-2020

The University Innovation Fund (UIF) Review Group was established to support the SFC-led review of the UIF approach in 2019-2020. The review considered progress with the delivery of the UIF approach against the original vision and provide recommendations for improvement and enhancement. The Group was chaired by former SFC Board member, Douglas Mundie and included representatives from Universities Scotland RKEC, Scottish Government, Scottish Enterprise, Highlands and Islands Enterprise and PraxisAuril.

Banner image for Innovation site area

SFC aims, pending the outcome of the review, to have any changes to the UIF in place for the AY2021/22 outcome agreement cycle.

Terms of Reference [PDF]

Review Group membership (at time of review)

  • Morven Cameron (SFC RKEC, Highlands and Islands Enterprise).
  • Dr Sean Fielding, (Chair of PraxisAuril and University of Exeter).
  • Dr Alicia Greated (SFC RKEC and Heriot-Watt University).
  • Dr Siobhán Jordan (SFC RKEC and Interface).
  • Douglas Mundie SFC Board & RKEC Member [Chair].
  • Alison Munro (SFC RKEC and Scottish Enterprise).
  • Dr Pieter van de Graaf (Scottish Government).
  • Dr Gillian Murray (US RKEC and Heriot-Watt University).
  • Professor Neil Simco (US RKEC and University of the Highlands and Islands) .


David Lott, Universities Scotland (or substitute).

UIF Review Group meeting papers

Papers from the UIF Review Group meeting held on 7 May 2019.

Papers from the UIF Review Group meeting held on 22 July 2019.

Papers from the UIF Review Group meeting held on 21 August 2019.